Feature Request: Private Visualizations

As a visualization author, I want to make a visualization private, so that I can conceal it from the general public, and share it with only collaborators.

This could be useful for commercial work (e.g. freelancing), or for keeping visualizations in a “draft” state before public release.

I’ve started working on this, and here are the designs implemented so far (totally subject to change but wanted to share):

New settings menu on bottom of editor sidebar.

The dialog that pops up when you click “privacy”.

Notes for Design:

• Two cases: user on free vs. paid plan
    • private option not available on free plan
    • upgrade call to action opportunity
  • List private visualizations in profile page. Different section?
  • Places to decide on public vs. private:
    • While forking
    • While editing

Tasks left here:

• When looking at a private viz, somehow indicate that it is private. Maybe a lock icon?
  • Display private visualizations separately in a user’s profile page.
1 Like

Hi Curran, I second this motion … the private flag needs to be seen - as I outlined in my email.

:slight_smile:

Preliminary designs for these features:

Feedback welcome! Hoping to implement these very soon.

Hi,

my thoughts:

• great you are developing this!
  • I like the positioning of the badge in the first picture - the detail view.
  • pink, however, is a very bold color! :smiley: Maybe too bold?
  • and maybe the color along with the rounded-ness of the badge (it’s the only rounded item on the page apart from the circular user image) and the size of the badge (see point below) makes it a little jarring.
  • Along with the icon, it makes it look like a button to turn private back off. Is it?
  • The badge in the second picture - in the list view - looks alright in your example picture, it may however feel ‘in the way’ when there is a visualisation in the background being part-hidden by the badge.