Feature Request: Collaborators

As a visualization author, I want to invite others to edit the visualization together, in real-time. Managing collaborators involves adding (searching for a user, choosing their permissions) and removing users from a list of collaborators, on a particular viz.

I would also like to be able to allow anyone to edit.

FWIW this is how the design looked in the original datavis.tech:

An autocomplete dropdown state would be a nice design to have here.

Kind of like this but with the user avatars there as well.

Figma has a pretty sweet unified design for sharing and adding collaborators.

here is what I have so far for adding and managing collaborators:

seems like maybe we don’t need to carry over all the sharing features from the Figma example, but let me know if you see something missing that should be there!

I’m slightly confused at the pill design in the text box. Since collaborators are listed below, why would we need pills there? Is the idea that you can add multiple users to the list, then invite them all at once? Pills afford multiple entries, but I think we will only ever need a single entry at a time there.

The behavior I’m imagining when you add a collaborator to the list is that they immediately have access to the viz. I don’t think there will be any actual “invite” sent out, nor any flow for accepting or rejecting the invitation. So, maybe we could change the text “Invite” to “Add”?

Filling in the gaps here, I’m assuming that when you click “Invite”, the selected user(s) will be given some default access level such as “can view”, then you would need to manually change it to “can edit”.

In this case, maybe we can leave out the “Invite” button entirely, so that selecting a user from the autocomplete dropdown would immediately add them to the list of collaborators with a default access level.